Air Quality Permit holders in Virginia, take note: the deadline for filing your 2020 Annual Update Reports and Emissions Statements is around the corner.  Wetland Studies and Solutions, Inc. (WSSI) can help you prepare and submit those ahead of the April 15, 2021 deadline.  WSSI recently acquired EEE Consulting, Inc. (3e), which has managed air permits for more than 20 years.

Who Reports, and What Do They Report?

In Virginia, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) require facilities that have Air Permits to submit an emissions statement each year.  This applies to both Title V permittees (large facilities, including industrial plants and coal-burning power plants) and Minor Source permittees.

Minor Source Air Permits are required for:

  • Facilities emitting more than 100 tons of volatile organic compounds (VOC) in a year and located in areas that have not been designated as Air Emission Control Areas
  • Facilities that are located in designated Emission Control Areas (see map below) and:
    • emitting 25 tons or more of VOC in a year; or,
    • emitting 25 tons or more of nitrogen oxide (NOx) per year.

The Minor Source Air Permit-holder’s emissions statement must provide VOC and NOx emissions data for both:

  • the calendar year; and,
  • a typical day during the peak ozone season (June through August).

Permit holders of these facilities have been sent letters from DEQ requesting their Annual Update Report and an Emissions Statement for calendar year 2020.

WSSI Can Help!

For assistance preparing your Annual Update Report and Emissions Statement or if you have questions about air quality permits, please reach out to the contacts below.

  1. City of Alexandria
  2. Arlington County
  3. Botetourt County
  4. Charles City County
  5. City of Chesapeake
  6. Chesterfield County
  7. City of Colonial Heights
  8. City of Fairfax
  9. Fairfax County
  10. City of Falls Church
  11. Frederick County
  12. City of Fredericksburg
  13. Gloucester
  14. City of Hampton
  15. Hanover County
  16. Henrico County,
  17. City of Hopewell
  18. Isle of Wight County
  19. James City County
  20. Loudoun County
  21. City of Manassas
  22. City of Manassas Park
  23. City of Newport News
  24. City of Norfolk
  25. City of Petersburg
  26. City of Poquoson
  27. City of Portsmouth
  28. Prince George County
  29. Prince William County
  30. City of Richmond
  31. City of Roanoke
  32. Roanoke County
  33. City of Salem
  34. Spotsylvania County
  35. Stafford County
  36. City of Suffolk
  37. City of Virginia Beach
  38. City of Williamsburg
  39. City of Winchester
  40. York County


  • Sharon Harless

    Richmond, VA

  • Chris Lalli

    Blacksburg, VA